Therefore let us be grateful for receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, and thus let us offer to God acceptable worship, with reverence and awe, for our God is a consuming fire.

Hebrews 12:28 & 29

In the midst of the fire of tribulation and trial it is so difficult to feel like anything is for us. Our feelings deceive even the most wisest of wise here on this earth. If we live our lives walking only in the “truth” of our feelings, where would we be? Lost… Confused… Deserted… Lonely… Angry…

This shows that our feelings are our flesh. They are our sinful desires wanting self… entitlement, self… esteem, self… fulfillment. I don’t know about you but I know my… self and I don’t like what I see, nor do I trust my… self. If I am to try to find any of these things in my… self, I do not think I would find what I am looking for. I know I could never satisfy this need within me with my… self.
So then where do we turn? I can’t turn to my husband who is like my… self. I can’t turn to anyone or anything for all are like my… self.

Where then is this satisfaction found?

In Jesus

He is teaching me, through these fires… through the shakings… that our only entitlement is that which is found in HIM alone. Our entitlement must be defined in things unseen, not seen. A glorious inheritance, given to us as a gift as we become HIS children ~ through faith in HIM alone ~ a gift received.

The substitution of my… self with HIS SON.

The Father now looks at me and sees HIS cherished Child. I am the Bride of Christ, the inheritors of eternity. Highly Esteemed. We then can know our worth, our esteem, how much we are loved. Knowing this I am filled to Satisfaction. The Author and Sustainer, the Lover and Healer, the Rescuer and Redeemer….. chose me… chose you.

HE gave us this gift that is above all gifts. Has made a way for us to be with HIM… ALWAYS. HE delights in loving you and loving on you through these fires… and HE is trustworthy… HE is the only thing that is unshakable. All things on this earth are shakable, all are created… none the perfect, none are comparable… all will fade away and one day every knee will bow… Oh what a Glorious Day!

It doesn’t mean HE will take all of the fire away… it does mean HE will sustain you through it and promises to spend every moment with you through it. HE will never leave you… nor forsake you.

So in the midst of the fire of tribulation and trial, what shall we then do? Rely on our feelings. No… Like Job… let us tear our robes, shave our heads, lay on the ground… let us grieve. Let us feel the mournful hurt of loss for this world is broken and is not yet rid of sin. We fight the good fight… And YES… Jesus is victorious… He has won.

One day He will come again and all will see. But that day has not yet come. Some are still blind. So until then, let us be like Job. Let us grieve and…. WORSHIP. He has given us all that we need. HIM. For in nothing else on this earth can we trust. For nothing else on this earth will withstand the test, the fire, the shake that comes… that is happening… Only HE is our firm foundation and how wonderful a gift that He welcomes us to HIS throne of Grace and we can then stand the test of fire, of whatever HIS Sovereignty has deemed us fit to endure, all the while knowing that we will never be alone.

Hide away in the love of Jesus my sister or brother… and worship. Sing a song, pray a prayer, obey a command, read HIS Word, Paint a painting, go for a walk… Rest… and know HE is there. Watch HIM work, look for HIM in everything in your life… Watch HIS amazing plan unfold… and WORSHIP.

“Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.”

Job 1:21

