I have been challenged today to expand, with my own thoughts, on a post that has piqued my interest.

That post is from Joanne Viola and you can read it here. She quoted Oswald Chambers from his book My Utmost for His Highest.

The quote speaks of the motivation of a Christian to obey.

Why do you obey Christ?

Or maybe I should back up and ┬ábegin with….

Do you obey Christ?

In the quote Mr. Chambers says:

If my relationship to Him is that of love, I will do what He says without hesitation.

Is my relationship to Jesus, one that is of love?

Do I care for Him?

Do I see the wounds that I created, the stripes and blood spilled on the cross for me?

Do I dwell, in my thinking and in my affections, in the beauty of the Gospel?

… Or am I consumed with my own kingdom come?

A reminder today, my friends, to myself and hopefully to you also, to think deeply about your obedience to Christ and your motivation behind it.

Remember the cross. Dwell in the beauty of the Gospel.

 

